Best Tunerless TVs in Japan 2026: Smart TVs and the NHK Fee

Best Tunerless TVs in Japan 2026: Smart TVs and the NHK Fee
📅 Updated October 2026: We reviewed this article in October 2026. Prices and availability can change, so please check the store page before you buy.
✅

JLL Verified & UpdatedLast reviewed October 2026 · Written by Miyabi, Japan Life Lab
📝 AI-Assisted Content Notice
This article was created with AI writing assistance (ChatGPT, Claude, etc.). Product selection, specifications, and reviews are verified by the Japan Life Lab editorial team.

This article contains promotional / affiliate links.

If most of what you watch in Japan comes from Netflix, YouTube or Prime Video, a tuner-less TV (chūnāresu terebi) is worth a look. It is a smart TV with no broadcast tuner, so it cannot pick up terrestrial, BS or CS channels at all. That matters because Japan’s Broadcasting Act ties NHK’s receiving contract, ¥1,100 a month for a terrestrial contract, to equipment that can receive NHK’s broadcasts and to starting NHK’s online service.

We then compare five tuner-less TVs on sale in Japan, from about ¥20,000 to ¥99,800: three Xiaomi Google TV models, Orion’s new GLD432U and Iris Ohyama’s 24-inch LTL-24WG-F1. Specs come from the makers’ Japanese spec pages and manuals; prices come from the makers’ own online shops and kakaku.com, all checked on 9 October 2026.

▲ Watch the key points in a YouTube Short

How to choose a tuner-less TV in Japan

1. What NHK’s rules actually cover

Article 64 of the Broadcasting Act requires a receiving contract from anyone who installs equipment that can receive NHK’s broadcasts and from anyone who starts receiving NHK’s online service. NHK’s English page gives examples of such devices: TVs, PCs with a TV tuner, smartphones with One Seg and the like, and car navigation systems with a TV tuner. It adds that owning a smartphone or PC alone does not require a contract, and that NHK WORLD-JAPAN, its international service, needs none.

Our reading, not an NHK statement: NHK’s receiving rules define a receiver as equipment that can receive NHK’s TV broadcasts, which a TV with no tuner cannot do, so on its own it is not a receiver; no NHK page we found names tuner-less TVs. Two things still trigger a contract: any other device in your household with a TV tuner, and starting NHK ONE, the online service, which NHK says requires a confirmation step first. Under NHK’s receiving rules, a terrestrial contract, which also covers NHK ONE, is ¥1,100 a month and a satellite contract ¥1,950, billed every 2, 6 or 12 months (¥12,276 and ¥21,765 for 12 months prepaid); Okinawa differs.

2. Screen size and viewing distance

Panasonic’s rule of thumb: a 4K TV looks best from about 1.5 times the screen height, a Full HD set from about 3 times. By our arithmetic, that is about 0.8 m for a 43-inch 4K set, 1.0 m for a 55-inch and 1.2 m for a 65-inch. Applying the Full HD figure to Iris Ohyama’s 24-inch HD set, with a 29.3 cm high screen, gives about 0.9 m.

Measure your TV board too: Xiaomi asks for a level surface wider than the TV and strong enough for its weight. Widths and weights with the stand are in each spec table below.

3. Picture: HD, 4K, QLED or Mini LED

The 24-inch Iris is HD (1,366 × 768); from 43 inches up, every pick here is 4K. Quantum-dot (QLED) panels give richer colour, and Mini LED adds local dimming for deeper blacks: Xiaomi’s 55-inch S Pro has 408 zones. Xiaomi’s A Pro and A sets run at 60 Hz. For gaming, read the small print: Xiaomi’s A 2026 reaches 120 Hz only at 1080p, and Orion says its BOOST 120Hz mode does not mean the panel itself runs at 120 Hz.

4. Ports and apps

All five run Google TV and need home internet; Xiaomi notes that Google TV needs a Google account. Count HDMI ports if you have a console, a PC or a soundbar: the Iris has two, the Xiaomi sets three and the Orion four. Orion’s manual starts setup with a language choice, but it does not list the languages, and we have not confirmed English menus on every model.

5. Japan-only hardware

Orion’s manual says the GLD432U runs on AC 100 V only and is for use in Japan, and that its Wi-Fi and Bluetooth are certified for Japan, so using them abroad may be punishable. Xiaomi’s spec pages list 100–240 V, and some add that this varies by market. We could not confirm the voltage range of the Iris Ohyama set. Treat all five as Japan-only TVs, and plan to sell or dispose of them when you leave.

The 5 best tuner-less TVs to buy in Japan in 2026

Sizes are width × depth × height with the stand. Shop links: Amazon Japan for Orion and Iris Ohyama; Xiaomi’s own store for the Xiaomi sets, which we could not confirm on Amazon Japan.

1. Xiaomi TV A Pro 43 2026 — best overall

Xiaomi’s A Pro 2026 series is the easiest recommendation. The 43-inch has a 4K QLED panel (Xiaomi quotes 94% of DCI-P3), HDR10+, Dolby Audio and DTS:X, Google TV and three HDMI ports. Google Cast and Apple AirPlay are built in.

Xiaomi’s own store listed it at ¥31,800 on 9 October 2026, against a list price of ¥39,800. The 55-inch was ¥64,800, the 65-inch ¥89,800 and the 75-inch ¥99,800. Launched in September 2025, it is sold in Xiaomi’s online store and Xiaomi’s official Rakuten shop. With a 60 Hz panel and 2 GB of RAM, it is not the pick for fast gaming.

Type 43-inch 4K QLED LCD, 60 Hz; Google TV
Picture / sound HDR10+, HLG; 10 W × 2, Dolby Audio, DTS:X
Ports / wireless HDMI × 3 (eARC on HDMI 2, ALLM), USB 2.0, LAN, optical out; Wi-Fi 2.4/5 GHz, Bluetooth 5.0
Memory 2 GB RAM, 8 GB storage
Size / weight 957 × 211 × 599 mm, 6 kg with stand; 75 W
Price (9 Oct 2026) ¥31,800 at Xiaomi’s store (list ¥39,800); 55-inch ¥64,800

✅ Pros

  • 4K QLED for about ¥32,000
  • Google Cast and AirPlay built in
  • Same series from 43 to 75 inches

⚠️ Cons

  • 60 Hz panel, only 2 GB of RAM
  • Only 8 GB of storage for apps
  • Not priced on kakaku.com, so compare shops yourself

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.5 / 5.0 — the best value for most rooms.

Our own assessment based on price, specs and features, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Streaming in a one-room or 1LDK flat
  • A first TV after moving to Japan

Xiaomi TV A Pro 43 2026 in Xiaomi’s official online store

2. Xiaomi TV A 65 2026 — biggest screen for the money

If you have about 1.2 m between the sofa and the screen, Xiaomi’s A 2026 series is the cheapest way to a big picture. The 65-inch is 4K without quantum dots, with HDR10, MEMC motion smoothing and Filmmaker mode. Its Game Boost mode raises the refresh rate from 60 Hz to 120 Hz over HDMI, but only at 1080p.

Xiaomi’s store listed the 65-inch at ¥61,800 on 9 October 2026 (list price ¥69,800), and the 55-inch at ¥50,160. Check your space before you order: the 65-inch is 1,445 mm wide and 13 kg on its stand, and its feet span 1,253 mm.

Type 65-inch 4K LCD, 60 Hz (120 Hz at 1080p in Game Boost); Google TV
Picture / sound HDR10, HLG, MEMC; 10 W × 2, Dolby Audio, DTS:X
Ports / wireless HDMI × 3 (eARC on HDMI 2, ALLM), USB 2.0, LAN, optical out; Wi-Fi 2.4/5 GHz, Bluetooth 5.0
Memory 2 GB RAM, 8 GB storage
Size / weight 1,445 × 391 × 900 mm, 13 kg with stand; 150 W
Price (9 Oct 2026) ¥61,800 at Xiaomi’s store (list ¥69,800); 55-inch ¥50,160

✅ Pros

  • 65 inches for about ¥62,000
  • 120 Hz Game Boost at 1080p
  • Thin bezel and metal frame

⚠️ Cons

  • No quantum dots, unlike the A Pro
  • Needs about 1.2 m and a wide TV board
  • Heavy at 13 kg

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.0 / 5.0 — a cinema-sized screen on a budget.

Our own assessment based on price, specs and features, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Living rooms and families
  • Watching sports and films together

Xiaomi TV A 65 2026 in Xiaomi’s official online store

3. Xiaomi TV S Pro Mini LED 55 2026 — best for films and games

The S Pro Mini LED is the most advanced of the three Xiaomi sets here. The 55-inch puts 408 local-dimming zones behind a quantum-dot panel, and Xiaomi quotes a peak brightness of 1,700 nits from its own lab tests. It supports Dolby Vision, HDR10+ and Dolby Atmos, and the panel runs at 144 Hz. All three HDMI ports are HDMI 2.1 with VRR and ALLM, and HDMI 1 and 2 accept 4K at 144 Hz for consoles and PCs.

Xiaomi’s store listed the 55-inch at ¥99,800 on 9 October 2026, the priciest pick here; it is rated at 230 W.

Type 55-inch 4K QD-Mini LED, 408 zones, 144 Hz; Google TV
Picture / sound Dolby Vision, HDR10+, HLG; 15 W × 2, Dolby Atmos
Ports / wireless HDMI 2.1 × 3 (VRR, ALLM; 4K 144 Hz on HDMI 1–2; eARC on HDMI 2), USB 2.0 + USB 3.0, LAN, optical out, 3.5 mm jack; Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.2
Memory 3 GB RAM, 32 GB storage
Size / weight 1,225 × 330 × 780 mm, about 13 kg with stand; 230 W
Price (9 Oct 2026) ¥99,800 at Xiaomi’s store

✅ Pros

  • Mini LED with 408 dimming zones
  • 4K at 144 Hz with VRR for consoles and PCs
  • Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos

⚠️ Cons

  • About three times the price of the A Pro 43
  • Brightness figures are Xiaomi lab values
  • Highest power rating of the five

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.5 / 5.0 — the one for films, sport and games.

Our own assessment based on price, specs and features, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Console and PC gamers
  • Film fans who watch in the evening

Xiaomi TV S Pro Mini LED 55 2026 in Xiaomi’s official online store

4. Orion GLD432U — best Japanese-brand pick with four HDMI ports

Orion is the TV brand of Doshisha, a Japanese company, and its GLD series went on sale on 1 October 2026. The 43-inch GLD432U is a 4K Google TV set (Android 14 for TV) with four HDMI 2.1 ports, Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, ALLM and MEMC. Its BOOST 120Hz mode smooths fast games, but Orion says this does not mean the panel itself runs at 120 Hz.

Orion’s own shop, Doshisha Marche, charges ¥64,800, and ¥79,800 for the 50-inch GLD502U; Orion’s product page also links to Amazon. The manual says the set has no terrestrial, BS or CS tuner, runs on AC 100 V only and is for use in Japan, with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth certified for Japan only.

Type 43-inch 4K LCD; Google TV (Android 14 for TV)
Picture / sound Dolby Vision, HDR10, HLG, MEMC; 10 W + 10 W, Dolby Atmos
Ports / wireless HDMI 2.1 × 4 (eARC/ARC on HDMI 2, CEC), video in, optical out, USB 2.0 × 2, LAN; Wi-Fi 2.4/5 GHz, Bluetooth 5.1
Power AC 100 V, 75 W
Size / weight 956 × 179 × 611 mm, 5.9 kg with stand
Price (9 Oct 2026) ¥64,800 at Doshisha Marche; 50-inch ¥79,800

✅ Pros

  • Four HDMI 2.1 ports
  • Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos
  • Japanese brand with a Japanese manual

⚠️ Cons

  • Twice the price of Xiaomi’s 43-inch
  • New model: few shop listings so far
  • Japan-only: AC 100 V, Japan-certified Wi-Fi

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.0 / 5.0 — for several consoles and a soundbar.

Our own assessment based on price, specs and features, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Homes with a console, a PC and a soundbar
  • Buyers who prefer a Japanese brand

5. Iris Ohyama LTL-24WG-F1 — best small TV for a bedroom or kitchen

Iris Ohyama’s LTL-24WG-F1 is a 24-inch Google TV set for a desk, a bedroom or a kitchen counter. It has a 1,366 × 768 panel, two HDMI ports and a LAN port, and comes with Netflix, Prime Video and YouTube preinstalled. At 553 mm wide and 2.7 kg, it fits almost anywhere.

Amazon.co.jp listed it at ¥22,800 on kakaku.com on 9 October 2026, and the lowest shop there charged ¥19,980. Iris gives a one-year warranty from the date of purchase.

Type 24-inch HD (1,366 × 768) LCD; Google TV
Sound 3 W + 3 W
Ports HDMI × 2 (ARC on HDMI 1), USB 2.0, LAN, optical out, 3.5 mm audio out
Warranty 1 year (Iris Ohyama)
Size / weight 553 × 145 × 370 mm, 2.7 kg with stand
Price (9 Oct 2026) ¥22,800 at Amazon.co.jp; lowest ¥19,980 (kakaku.com)

✅ Pros

  • Cheapest pick, about ¥20,000
  • Light at 2.7 kg, 553 mm wide
  • Japanese brand with a one-year warranty

⚠️ Cons

  • HD resolution only
  • Small 3 W speakers
  • Only one USB port

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.0 / 5.0 — the second screen that fits anywhere.

Our own assessment based on price, specs and features, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Bedrooms, kitchens and desks
  • Students in small rooms

Comparison table

Model Best for Size / resolution Panel Refresh rate HDMI Weight* Price, 9 Oct 2026**
Xiaomi TV A Pro 43 2026 Value 43-inch 4K QLED 60 Hz 3 6 kg ¥31,800 (Xiaomi)
Xiaomi TV A 65 2026 Big screen 65-inch 4K LCD 60 Hz; 120 Hz at 1080p 3 13 kg ¥61,800 (Xiaomi)
Xiaomi TV S Pro Mini LED 55 2026 Films and games 55-inch 4K QD-Mini LED, 408 zones 144 Hz 3 (HDMI 2.1) about 13 kg ¥99,800 (Xiaomi)
Orion GLD432U Japanese brand, 4 HDMI 43-inch 4K LCD Not stated; BOOST 120Hz mode 4 (HDMI 2.1) 5.9 kg ¥64,800 (Doshisha Marche)
Iris Ohyama LTL-24WG-F1 Small rooms 24-inch HD LCD Not stated 2 2.7 kg ¥22,800 (Amazon.co.jp)

* With stand, per the makers. ** Xiaomi: Xiaomi’s online store; Orion: its own shop, Doshisha Marche; Iris Ohyama: the Amazon.co.jp offer on kakaku.com (lowest shop ¥19,980). All incl. tax.

Living without a tuner: NHK contract, TVer, disposal and timing

Already have an NHK contract? A new TV does not end it

NHK says a contract can be cancelled when every receiving device in the household is gone (removed, broken or given away), when you stop using NHK’s online service, or when nobody lives at the address any more, such as after a move abroad. You report it to NHK’s customer centre; once NHK has confirmed that no receiving device is left and that nobody in the household watches NHK online, the contract ends on the day of your report. Moving out of Japan? Our leaving Japan checklist covers the other contracts.

What you give up

No broadcasts at all: Orion’s manual says you need a separate tuner for terrestrial, BS or CS channels, and adding one brings the NHK question back. TVer, the commercial broadcasters’ free app, runs on TVs for catch-up shows, but its Google Play listing (updated 18 September 2026) says the real-time simulcasts cannot be watched in the TV app. NHK WORLD-JAPAN, which NHK says needs no contract, lists apps for TV devices including Android TV, and its phone app sends earthquake and tsunami warnings; see our earthquake guide.

Disposal and moving out

Orion’s manual says tuner-less TVs fall outside the Home Appliance Recycling Act, so you dispose of one according to your city’s rules, after a factory reset to erase your personal data. Ordinary TVs are one of the four appliance types under that act, with recycling fees that depend on the maker and the size. For the other brands here, ask your city office how it treats a TV without a tuner.

When to buy

Amazon.co.jp’s Prime Kanshasai (プライム感謝祭) has a pre-sale on 13–15 October and the main sale on 16–19 October, for Prime members; its point-up campaign needs an entry. We do not know which TVs will be discounted, so compare any sale price with the prices above (see our sale calendar).

Frequently asked questions

Do I have to pay the NHK fee if I only own a tuner-less TV?

Article 64 of the Broadcasting Act requires a contract for equipment that can receive NHK’s broadcasts and for starting NHK’s online service. Our reading of NHK’s definition: a TV with no tuner cannot receive broadcasts, so on its own it is not a receiver and does not trigger a contract; the NHK pages we checked do not name tuner-less TVs. Another tuner device in your household, or starting NHK ONE, does trigger one; a terrestrial contract is ¥1,100 a month.

What else in my home can trigger an NHK contract?

NHK gives examples: TVs, PCs with a TV tuner, smartphones with One Seg and the like, and car navigation systems with a TV tuner, plus starting NHK ONE. It says owning a smartphone or PC alone does not, and that NHK WORLD-JAPAN needs no contract.

Can I watch Japanese TV channels on a tuner-less TV?

Not as broadcasts, unless you add a tuner, which brings the NHK contract back. TVer’s TV app has catch-up shows from the commercial channels, but TVer says its real-time simulcasts cannot be watched in the TV app.

Can I take a tuner-less TV bought in Japan abroad?

Plan not to. Orion’s GLD432U runs on AC 100 V only and its Wi-Fi and Bluetooth are certified for Japan; Xiaomi’s spec pages list 100–240 V, and some add that this varies by market; we could not confirm the Iris Ohyama set’s voltage range.

How do I get rid of a tuner-less TV when I leave Japan?

Orion’s manual says tuner-less TVs are outside the Home Appliance Recycling Act, so you follow your city’s rules after a factory reset; for other brands, ask your city office. Cancel any NHK contract too.

The short version

For most flats, buy the Xiaomi TV A Pro 43 2026: 4K QLED and Google TV for ¥31,800 at Xiaomi’s store. For a big living room, the Xiaomi TV A 65 2026 (¥61,800). For films and gaming, the Xiaomi TV S Pro Mini LED 55 2026 (¥99,800, 144 Hz). If you want a Japanese brand and four HDMI ports, Orion’s GLD432U (¥64,800). For a bedroom or kitchen, Iris Ohyama’s LTL-24WG-F1 (¥22,800 at Amazon.co.jp). By our reading of NHK’s definition, a TV without a tuner does not need an NHK contract by itself, but other tuner devices and NHK ONE do.

Japan Expat Starter Kit 2026 cover

Japan Expat Starter Kit 2026 PDF guide

Your first 90 days in Japan, step by step: 17 chapters · 24 pages · 100 phrases in Japanese script · 40 kanji · printable checklists. Bank account, My Number, health insurance, apartment, phone, taxes & pension.

$9.99 $4.99 current price

📥 Get the kit →

📄 Read 5 pages free: contents + Chapter 2

⚡ Instant PDF download · 🛡️ 30-day money-back guarantee · 🔄 Free 2026 updates

🛒 Ready to Buy? Shop These in Japan!

Get fast delivery across Japan — including same-day in major cities

📚 More Japan Guides: Suica Card · PayPay Guide · Convenience Stores · Best VPN for Japan · Japan eSIM
📮 Get the Japan Life Lab newsletter
Practical guides for life and travel in Japan — free, about once a week. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

About the author|Japan Life Lab Editorial Team (run by Miyabi)
Written by Miyabi, a Japan-based publisher, and the JLL editorial team, based on official sources, marketplace reviews and expat community feedback. When we test something hands-on, we say so in the article. Content and Editorial Policy

☕ Enjoying our Japan guides?

If this article helped you, you can support our work with a coffee!

Support us on Ko-fi

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NEWThe Japan Expat Starter Kit 2026 — your first 90 days in Japan, step by step · 24-page PDF$9.99 $4.99Get it →×