Osechi 2027 in Japan: How to Order, Deadlines & 6 Picks

Osechi 2027 in Japan: How to Order, Deadlines & 6 Picks
📅 Updated October 2026: We reviewed this article in October 2026. Prices and availability can change, so please check the store page before you buy.
✅

JLL Verified & UpdatedLast reviewed November 2026 · Written by Miyabi, Japan Life Lab
📝 AI-Assisted Content Notice
This article was created with AI writing assistance (ChatGPT, Claude, etc.). Product selection, specifications, and reviews are verified by the Japan Life Lab editorial team.

This article contains promotional / affiliate links.

On 1 January, Japanese families open a stack of lacquered boxes filled with small, colourful dishes: osechi (おせち料理), the traditional New Year food. Each dish carries a wish, such as health, a good harvest or many children, and stacking the boxes (重箱, jūbako) means “piling up good fortune”. Most people eat it during the first three days of the year (三が日, sanganichi).

Very few people cook osechi from scratch today. Instead, they pre-order a box from a convenience store, a supermarket or a department store. For newcomers, this raises three questions: how do I order, by when, and what is inside? Below we explain the dishes, the 2027 order deadlines at the big chains, our 6 picks, and what to check if you avoid pork or alcohol. We read official pages and press releases on 28 October 2026.

📌 What you will learn

In a hurry? A 1-person osechi box costs about ¥6,900–¥7,400 at 7-Eleven, Lawson, AEON or Takashimaya in 2027. Order early: konbini home delivery closes on 10–12 December, and department-store online orders cannot be cancelled. Many boxes contain pork (even “Japanese-style” ones), classic dishes are often cooked with mirin or sake, and we found no halal-certified osechi.

  1. What is osechi? The dishes and their meaning
  2. How to order: 2027 deadlines at a glance
  3. Our 6 picks for New Year 2027
  4. Comparison table: price, servings, chilled or frozen, pork
  5. Pork, alcohol, allergens and safety
  6. Frequently asked questions
  7. The short version

※ Prices and dates checked on 28 October 2026 on each seller’s official page or press release. Prices include tax.

▲ Watch the key points in a YouTube Short

What is osechi? The dishes and their meaning

Store-bought osechi usually has one to three tiers. 7-Eleven explains the classic layout: the first tier holds celebratory starters (black beans, herring roe, sweet chestnut paste, fish cake), the second holds vinegared and grilled dishes (sea bream, prawns, yellowtail; in recent years also meat such as pork belly or roast beef), and the third holds simmered vegetables.

Dish (Japanese) What it is Wish / meaning
Kuromame 黒豆 Sweet simmered black soybeans To work hard (mame) and stay healthy
Kazunoko 数の子 Herring roe Many children and descendants
Tazukuri 田作り Candied small dried sardines (Kanto) A good harvest: sardines were once rice-field fertiliser
Tataki-gobō たたきごぼう Pounded burdock root (Kansai) Deep roots: a family that lasts
Kuri-kinton 栗きんとん Mashed sweet potato with chestnuts Wealth: its golden colour
Kōhaku kamaboko 紅白かまぼこ Red-and-white fish cake Shaped like the rising sun; red for joy, white for purity
Kōhaku namasu 紅白なます Vinegared daikon and carrot Peace; it looks like the red-and-white gift cord
Kobu-maki 昆布巻き Kelp rolls, often with herring inside Kobu sounds like yorokobu (joy)
Nishime 煮しめ Vegetables simmered together in one pot Family harmony and lasting prosperity

※ Meanings from the Ministry of Agriculture (MAFF) regional-recipe pages and 7-Eleven’s osechi explainer.

Osechi is usually served with ozōni (お雑煮), a soup with rice cakes, which MAFF calls the “main dish” of New Year food. Washoku, Japan’s traditional food culture, has been on UNESCO’s Intangible Cultural Heritage list since 2013, partly for its close ties to New Year events.

How to order: 2027 deadlines at a glance

Orders usually open in September or October. Home delivery closes much earlier than store pickup, and early-bird discounts end in late November. Everything is “limited quantity”, so popular boxes can sell out before the deadline.

Seller How to order Order deadline Pickup / delivery Early-bird
7-Eleven In store, or the 7NOW app (store pickup only) Store pickup: 28 Dec. Home delivery: 12 Dec (order in store) Store pickup 30–31 Dec (some items to 3 Jan). Delivery from 28–30 Dec 10% off in 7NOW until 30 Nov
Lawson In store (paper form) or the Lawson app (prepaid) Store: 25 Dec 18:00. App: 23 Dec. Home delivery: 10 Dec Store pickup 30–31 Dec from 14:00. Delivery 30–31 Dec, no date choice ¥2,000 off some three-tier boxes (store until 10 Dec)
FamilyMart Famima Online (most items) 22 Dec 23:00 Delivery 29–31 Dec, no date choice 10% off 15 items until 30 Nov 9:00
AEON (AEON Shop) aeonshop.com, or phone Chilled: 26 Dec. Frozen: 24 Dec (varies) Chilled delivered 31 Dec, frozen 30 Dec 5% off until 27 Nov
Takashimaya Online store, in store, catalogue Online: 25 Dec 10:00 (some to 27 Dec) Online: 28–31 Dec by item Free shipping on online orders until 9 Nov
Daimaru Matsuzakaya Online store 22 Dec 10:00 (shipping-included items 17 Dec) Frozen delivery e.g. 29–30 Dec Not confirmed

※ From each seller’s official page or press release (checked 28 October 2026). Konbini payment: Lawson and 7-Eleven stores take payment at pickup; delivery and app orders are prepaid.

Can I cancel?

  • 7-Eleven: until each item’s order deadline, with your reservation slip or order number. You cannot change an order; cancel and book again.
  • Lawson: no cancellation or change after the deadline (early-bird items: after 10 December 18:00).
  • AEON Shop: until 4 days before the item’s order deadline.
  • Takashimaya and Daimaru Matsuzakaya online: no cancellation after ordering.

Chilled or frozen? Chilled osechi needs no thawing but must be eaten by about 2 January, and you need fridge space on 30–31 December. Frozen osechi arrives earlier (28–30 December), keeps until about the end of January while frozen, and needs about 24 hours of thawing in the fridge.

Our 6 picks for New Year 2027

We chose one box from each major seller, focusing on 1–2 person sizes, which suit most people living in Japan alone or as a couple. Osechi is sold only through each seller’s own store, app or website, so the buttons below open the official page (in Japanese).

1. 7-Eleven Wa no Osechi Ichidanjū: the cheapest classic box for one

A one-tier box with 19 dishes for one person, about 19.4 cm square. It is the cheapest traditional 1-person box among the konbini, and unusually you can pick it up as late as 3 January. Order in store or in the 7NOW app; the app gives 10% off until 30 November.

Read the menu (お品書き): it includes 豚角煮 (pork belly). Allergens marked: egg, milk, wheat, prawn, crab and walnut. It is chilled, and must be eaten by two days after pickup.

Japanese name セブン-イレブン 和のおせち一段重
Size 1 tier, 19 dishes, 1 person
Price ¥6,912 (¥6,220.80 in 7NOW until 30 Nov)
Order / pickup Store: 4 days before pickup. Pickup 30 Dec–3 Jan. Chilled. Not sold in Okinawa

✅ Pros

  • Cheapest classic 1-person box
  • Pickup possible until 3 January
  • 10% off in the app until 30 Nov

⚠️ Cons

  • Contains pork (豚角煮)
  • Chilled: eat within 2 days of pickup
  • No ice pack included

Editor’s rating ★★★★★ 4.5 / 5.0 — the best-value classic box for people living alone.

Our own assessment based on price, contents, ordering and delivery rules, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Singles
  • Late planners who want pickup after New Year’s Day
  • People with no pork restriction

2. Lawson Wafū Osechi Ichidanjū: pay at pickup

A one-tier box of classic dishes, including black beans, herring roe, salmon roe, sea bream and abalone. Book with a paper form in any Lawson and pay when you pick it up on 30 or 31 December (from 14:00). The store price is ¥1,600 cheaper than home delivery.

Despite the name “wafū” (Japanese-style), it contains 鹿児島県産豚のローストポーク (roast pork). Lawson lists 8 allergens (prawn, crab, wheat, egg, milk). For two people, Lawson’s 舞千 (Maisen) set of two boxes (¥12,950 in store) shows no pork on its menu, but has chicken.

Japanese name ローソン 和風おせち一段重
Size 1 tier (servings not stated); about 19.5 cm square
Price ¥7,350 store pickup / ¥8,950 home delivery
Order / pickup Store 25 Dec 18:00; app 23 Dec; delivery 10 Dec. Chilled, eat by 2 Jan

✅ Pros

  • Pay at pickup, no card needed
  • Classic luxury dishes
  • Store price ¥1,600 cheaper than delivery

⚠️ Cons

  • Contains roast pork
  • Pickup only on 30–31 Dec from 14:00
  • No cancellation after the deadline

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.0 / 5.0 — easy booking at the store you pass every day.

Our own assessment based on price, contents, ordering and delivery rules, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • People without a credit card
  • Lawson regulars
  • People with no pork restriction

3. FamilyMart Shukushun, one-person boxes ×2: for couples

Two separate boxes, each with 24 dishes for one person, supervised by a Kyoto restaurant. Separate boxes are handy for couples, or when one person avoids some foods. It arrives frozen with shipping included, and the early-bird price runs until 30 November.

Ordering is online only (Famima Online), and we could not read the full menu or cancellation rules from outside Japan, so check them before you pay. Note that FamilyMart’s 八百彦本店 three-tier box contains 黒酢酢豚 (sweet-and-sour pork).

Japanese name ファミリーマート 祇おん江口監修 祝春 一人前×二段
Size 2 boxes × 24 dishes, for 2
Price ¥12,420 (¥11,178 until 30 Nov)
Order / delivery Famima Online until 22 Dec 23:00. Frozen, delivered 29–31 Dec (no date choice)

✅ Pros

  • Two individual boxes
  • Shipping included
  • Latest konbini online deadline (22 Dec)

⚠️ Cons

  • Online only
  • Full menu not confirmed
  • Must thaw about a day

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.0 / 5.0 — couples who want their own box each.

Our own assessment based on price, contents, ordering and delivery rules, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Couples
  • Households where one person avoids some foods
  • Late planners

4. AEON TopValu Musubi: 27 small dishes, no pork named

A one-tier box with 27 small dishes for one person, delivered chilled on 31 December with shipping included. The menu shows no item with pork in its name; the meat is chicken meatballs. It lists 9 allergens, including cashew: this box contains egg, milk, wheat and prawn.

It has clear rules: you can cancel or change until 22 December, and 5% off runs until 27 November. One dish is 鰆幽庵焼 (yūan-yaki Spanish mackerel); yūan marinades are traditionally made with sake and mirin, so ask AEON if you avoid alcohol. “No pork named” is not a halal certification.

Japanese name トップバリュ 和風一段重「結」
Size 1 tier, 27 dishes, 1 person
Price ¥7,344 (¥6,976.80 until 27 Nov)
Order / delivery Until 27 Dec 1:00 a.m.; cancel until 22 Dec. Chilled, delivered 31 Dec. Not to Okinawa or remote islands

✅ Pros

  • No pork-named dish on the menu
  • Cancellation allowed until 22 Dec
  • Allergens listed for 9 items, cashew included

⚠️ Cons

  • Delivery only, no time choice
  • Likely contains sake/mirin (ask AEON)
  • Not delivered to Okinawa or remote islands

Editor’s rating ★★★★★ 4.5 / 5.0 — a low-risk 1-person box with clear rules.

Our own assessment based on price, contents, ordering and delivery rules, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Singles who avoid pork
  • People who want to be able to cancel
  • Allergy-conscious buyers

5. Daimaru Matsuzakaya Nagisa: department-store box for two, delivered nationwide

A one-tier box of 24 Japanese, Western and Chinese-style dishes for two, delivered frozen anywhere in Japan for ¥10,800 including shipping. Its menu shows no item with pork in its name (smoked duck, roast beef, chicken galantine and seafood). The sister box ひより (Hiyori) does contain 黒酢酢豚 (pork).

Two strict rules: no cancellation after ordering, and someone must be home on 29–30 December (no delivery boxes). Allergen details are by phone only.

Japanese name 大丸松坂屋 厳選冷凍おせちT 和・洋・中華風 一段(2人用)「なぎさ」
Size 1 tier, 24 dishes, for 2
Price ¥10,800 including shipping
Order / delivery Until 17 Dec 10:00 (11 Dec for convenience-store or ATM payment). Frozen, delivered 29–30 Dec

✅ Pros

  • Department-store quality for ¥10,800
  • No pork-named dish on the menu
  • Can be sent to family elsewhere in Japan

⚠️ Cons

  • No cancellation
  • Someone must be home; no delivery box
  • Allergens by phone only

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.0 / 5.0 — couples who want a department-store box at a fair price.

Our own assessment based on price, contents, ordering and delivery rules, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Couples
  • Gifts to family in Japan
  • People who avoid pork (check alcohol separately)

6. Takashimaya Solo-katsu Wa no Osechi: a department-store name for one

A 1-person osechi from Takashimaya at the konbini price level, ¥6,912 with free shipping. It is sold online and by catalogue only, delivered frozen on 30 December.

We could not see the menu in the page text, so check it before ordering. Like other department-store online orders, it cannot be cancelled. Takashimaya also offers a Western-style “variety” version at the same price, and a low-carb box (¥12,744).

Japanese name 高島屋 ソロ活 和のおせち
Size 1 person
Price ¥6,912, free shipping
Order / delivery Online store until 25 Dec 10:00 (general rule). Frozen, delivered 30 Dec only

✅ Pros

  • Department-store brand for about ¥7,000
  • Free shipping
  • Arrives 30 Dec, in time to thaw

⚠️ Cons

  • No cancellation
  • Menu not shown in page text
  • Must thaw about a day

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.0 / 5.0 — singles who prefer a department-store name.

Our own assessment based on price, contents, ordering and delivery rules, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Singles
  • People who want delivery, not pickup
  • Gift to yourself

Vegan option: a small specialist, 健康食工房たかの (Kenkōshoku Kōbō Takano), sells a 100% plant-based “VEGAN 自然食おせち” for about 3 people (¥27,000 plus ¥2,700 shipping; orders until 24 December, chilled delivery 31 December). It does not say whether mirin or alcohol is used. No cancellation from December.

Want to make your own? Many people buy a jūbako box and a few ready-made dishes, and add their own. You can find both online:

Comparison table: price, servings, chilled or frozen, pork

Product Servings Price (tax incl.) Chilled / frozen Pork on the menu? Cancel?
7-Eleven 和のおせち一段重 1 ¥6,912 Chilled (store pickup) Yes (豚角煮) Until deadline
Lawson 和風おせち一段重 Not stated ¥7,350 / ¥8,950 Chilled Yes (ローストポーク) Until deadline
FamilyMart 祝春 ×2 2 ¥12,420 Frozen Not confirmed Not confirmed
AEON 結 1 ¥7,344 Chilled None named Until 22 Dec
Daimaru Matsuzakaya なぎさ 2 ¥10,800 Frozen None named No
Takashimaya ソロ活 和のおせち 1 ¥6,912 Frozen Not confirmed No

※ From official menus and pages (checked 28 October 2026). “None named” means no dish has pork in its name; it is not a halal certification, and sauces or seasonings may still contain pork or alcohol.

Pork, alcohol, allergens and safety

Pork: “Japanese-style” does not mean pork-free

Many 2027 boxes include pork: 豚角煮 (pork belly) at 7-Eleven, ローストポーク and スペアリブ at Lawson, 酢豚 (sweet-and-sour pork) at FamilyMart and Daimaru Matsuzakaya. Both the 7-Eleven and Lawson boxes called “和” or “和風” (Japanese-style) contain pork.

Alcohol: common in classic dishes

MAFF’s official home recipes for kelp rolls, nishime and herring roe use mirin and/or sake; MAFF’s black-bean recipes use only sugar, soy sauce and salt, but commercial black beans may differ. Seller menus list dish names only, not ingredients, so ask the seller or read the 原材料 label when the box arrives.

Halal and vegan

As of 28 October 2026, we could not find a halal-certified osechi for New Year 2027 from any major retailer. Muslim readers may prefer to make their own New Year plate from halal-checked ingredients, or ask halal restaurants directly.

If you avoid… Look for these words on the menu and label
Pork 豚, ポーク, 角煮, 焼豚 / チャーシュー, 酢豚, スペアリブ, ハム, ベーコン, ソーセージ, サラミ, ラード, ポルケッタ. Check パストラミ (the animal) and ゼラチン (source often not stated)
Alcohol 酒, 清酒, 日本酒, みりん, 本みりん, 料理酒, ワイン, 洋酒, ブランデー, ラム, 酒粕, 酒精 / アルコール. みりん風調味料 and 発酵調味料 may contain some alcohol
Allergens Since April 2026, cashew (カシューナッツ) is a mandatory allergen, but some 2027 pages still list only 8 items. Ask the seller if you are allergic

⚠️ Safety checklist

  • Thaw frozen osechi in the fridge, not at room temperature: about 24 hours at 5–10°C (7-Eleven). Start on the morning of 31 December for a 1 January meal
  • After thawing, keep it at 10°C or below and eat it soon. Lawson’s frozen box should be eaten within 2 days of starting to thaw
  • Chilled osechi has a 消費期限 (use-by date), usually 2 January. That is a safety limit, not a quality guide
  • Do not leave the box out on the table for hours during New Year visits. If in doubt, throw it out (Ministry of Health)
  • Dishes touch each other in the box, so allergens can cross over

Frequently asked questions

When do people eat osechi?

Mostly from 1 to 3 January (三が日). Some regions and families start on New Year’s Eve, 31 December.

What is the cheapest way to get osechi for one person?

A konbini 1-person box picked up in store, such as 7-Eleven 和のおせち一段重 at ¥6,912 (¥6,220.80 in the 7NOW app until 30 November), or AEON 結 at ¥7,344 delivered (¥6,976.80 until 27 November).

Can I cancel my osechi order?

At konbini, yes, until the order deadline (Lawson early-bird items until 10 December 18:00). AEON Shop allows cancellation until 4 days before its deadline. Takashimaya and Daimaru Matsuzakaya online orders cannot be cancelled.

Chilled or frozen: which is better?

Chilled needs no thawing but must be eaten by about 2 January, and needs fridge space on 30–31 December. Frozen arrives earlier, keeps until about late January while frozen, and needs about 24 hours of thawing in the fridge.

Does osechi contain pork or alcohol?

Often, yes. Many 2027 boxes include pork belly, roast pork or sweet-and-sour pork, even “Japanese-style” ones, and classic simmered dishes, kelp rolls and herring roe are commonly seasoned with mirin and sake. Check the menu and the 原材料 label, or ask the seller.

Is there halal or vegan osechi?

We could not confirm any halal-certified osechi for 2027 from major retailers as of 28 October 2026. A small specialist sells a 100% plant-based “VEGAN” osechi (¥27,000 plus shipping), but it does not state whether mirin or alcohol is used.

The short version

Osechi is Japan’s New Year food in tiered boxes, and almost everyone pre-orders it. For one person, 7-Eleven 和のおせち一段重 (¥6,912, pickup until 3 January) or AEON 結 (¥7,344, no pork named, cancel until 22 December) are the easiest. For two, FamilyMart 祝春 or Daimaru Matsuzakaya なぎさ. Book before the early-bird ends (27–30 November), and remember that konbini home delivery closes on 10–12 December and department-store online orders cannot be cancelled. Check the menu for pork, ask about mirin and sake, and thaw frozen boxes in the fridge.

Japan Expat Starter Kit 2026 cover

Japan Expat Starter Kit 2026 PDF guide

Your first 90 days in Japan, step by step: 17 chapters · 24 pages · 100 phrases in Japanese script · 40 kanji · printable checklists. Bank account, My Number, health insurance, apartment, phone, taxes & pension.

$9.99 $4.99 current price

📥 Get the kit →

📄 Read 5 pages free: contents + Chapter 2

⚡ Instant PDF download · 🛡️ 30-day money-back guarantee · 🔄 Free 2026 updates

📚 More Japan Guides: Suica Card · PayPay Guide · Convenience Stores · Best VPN for Japan · Japan eSIM
📮 Get the Japan Life Lab newsletter
Practical guides for life and travel in Japan — free, about once a week. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

About the author|Japan Life Lab Editorial Team (run by Miyabi)
Written by Miyabi, a Japan-based publisher, and the JLL editorial team, based on official sources, marketplace reviews and expat community feedback. When we test something hands-on, we say so in the article. Content and Editorial Policy

☕ Enjoying our Japan guides?

If this article helped you, you can support our work with a coffee!

Support us on Ko-fi

Did this guide help you? 🍵

Japan Life Lab is a small independent blog, and every guide we publish is completely free — no paywalls, ever. If our work saved you time (or a headache), you can support us with a cup of Japanese tea. Every contribution, big or small, goes straight into keeping these guides free, accurate and up to date for everyone.

☕ Support Japan Life Lab
Secure payment via Ko-fi (card or PayPal). Thank you so much 🙏

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NEWThe Japan Expat Starter Kit 2026 — your first 90 days in Japan, step by step · 24-page PDF$9.99 $4.99Get it →×