Oden in Japan 2026: Konbini Guide, What’s Inside & 5 Picks

Oden in Japan 2026: Konbini Guide, What’s Inside & 5 Picks
📅 Updated October 2026: We reviewed this article in October 2026. Prices and availability can change, so please check the store page before you buy.
✅

JLL Verified & UpdatedLast reviewed October 2026 · Written by Miyabi, Japan Life Lab
📝 AI-Assisted Content Notice
This article was created with AI writing assistance (ChatGPT, Claude, etc.). Product selection, specifications, and reviews are verified by the Japan Life Lab editorial team.

This article contains promotional / affiliate links.

When the air turns cold, a steaming metal tray appears by the till in many Japanese convenience stores: oden (おでん). Daikon radish, eggs, konjac and fish cakes simmer for hours in a light soy-and-dashi broth, and you pick the pieces you want. It is cheap, warming and very Japanese. Kibun, Japan’s biggest fish-cake maker, says households put an average of 8.24 kinds of ingredients in one pot, and its own survey ranks oden as the country’s favourite hot pot.

For newcomers, oden raises two questions: how do I order it, and what exactly is in it? The second matters more than it looks. Many items simmer in one shared broth, and some chains add chicken, beef or pork to it. Below we explain konbini oden at 7-Eleven, Lawson and FamilyMart in 2026, what every common item is made of, and our 5 picks for making oden at home, where you control the broth. We read official pages and ingredient lists and checked prices on 27 October 2026.

📌 What you will learn

In a hurry? Konbini oden is easy and cheap (about ¥120–¥210 an item), but the shared broth can contain chicken, beef or pork, and no halal certification was found. At home, a meat-free base such as S&B Oden no Moto or Kibun Oden-jiru granules lets you control every ingredient.

  1. Konbini oden in 2026: 7-Eleven, Lawson, FamilyMart
  2. What is in oden? Every item explained
  3. Our 5 picks for oden at home
  4. Comparison table: price, format, pork, beef, alcohol
  5. How to cook oden at home, and stay safe
  6. Frequently asked questions
  7. The short version

※ Prices checked on 27 October 2026 on official konbini pages, AEON’s online supermarket (Green Beans) and makers’ sites.

▲ Watch the key points in a YouTube Short

Konbini oden in 2026: 7-Eleven, Lawson and FamilyMart

All three big chains still sell oden this season, but not every store carries it, and some items are regional. Prices below are tax-included examples from official pages and news releases.

Chain 2026 status Example prices (tax incl.) Broth notes
7-Eleven Counter oden plus a packaged cup (セブンプレミアム おでん, ¥399.60). A 10%-off oden sale ran 16–20 October 2026 Daikon ¥130.68, egg ¥150.12, chikuwa ¥145.80, beef-tendon skewer ¥210.60 Broth differs in 7 regions. Tokai, Kansai/Hokuriku, Chugoku/Shikoku and Kyushu/Okinawa broths contain beef and/or chicken
Lawson On sale from 23 September 2026 Daikon ¥160, egg ¥160, konjac ¥140, beef tendon ¥198, pork sausage ¥140 Okinawa adds pig’s trotter (テビチ) and pork rib (ソーキ)
Lawson Store 100 “100-yen oden” packs from 23 September 2026 ¥108 per pack (11 kinds) Packaged, not a shared pot
FamilyMart 12 items on the official page; 2026 start date not announced Konjac ¥145, daikon ¥145, egg ¥150, beef-tendon skewer ¥198 Official allergen page: broth contains chicken; the daikon is labelled pork and gelatin

※ From 7-Eleven, Lawson, Lawson Store 100 and FamilyMart official pages and releases (checked 27 October 2026). Prices vary by store.

How to order konbini oden

  • Point or say the name. Staff usually ladle it into a cup for you. Saying the Japanese name helps: daikon (だいこん), tamago (たまご), konnyaku (こんにゃく), chikuwa (ちくわ).
  • Ask for broth (つゆ, tsuyu) if you want extra soup in the cup.
  • Condiments are free. Japanese mustard (からし, karashi) is the classic. FamilyMart also lists yuzu-kosho and miso sauce.
  • Eat-in costs more tax. Takeaway food is taxed at 8%; eating in the store is 10%.
  • It is very hot. Keep the lid on while you carry it, and let the egg and daikon cool before biting.

What is in oden? Every common item explained

Most oden “cakes” are fish paste, not meat. But because everything simmers together, the broth soaks into every item, including the vegetables.

Item (Japanese) What it is Fish? Meat?
Daikon 大根 Thick slices of radish, simmered until soft Absorbs the broth Absorbs the broth. FamilyMart’s daikon is labelled pork, gelatin and chicken
Tamago 卵 Hard-boiled egg Broth Broth
Konnyaku こんにゃく / Shirataki 白滝 Konjac jelly / konjac noodles (plant) Broth only None of the 28 allergens (FamilyMart)
Chikuwa ちくわ Grilled fish-paste tube Yes Some contain pork fat (豚脂)
Hanpen はんぺん Fluffy fish paste with yam and egg white (eastern Japan) Yes None listed
Chikuwabu ちくわぶ Chewy wheat-flour tube (Kanto) No No
Gobō-maki ごぼう巻 Burdock root wrapped in fish paste Yes No
Mochi kinchaku 餅巾着 Rice cake in a fried-tofu pouch Broth FamilyMart lists soy only
Gyū-suji 牛すじ Beef tendon skewer — Beef
Wiener ウインナー Sausage — Pork
Tsukune つくね Chicken meatball — Chicken

※ From FamilyMart’s official allergen page, 7-Eleven and Lawson item lists, Kibun’s oden guide and AEON product labels (checked 27 October 2026).

Is konbini oden halal, pork-free or vegetarian?

We found no halal certification on any konbini oden or packaged oden we checked. Because items share one pot, a “plain” daikon or egg takes on whatever is in the broth: chicken at FamilyMart, and beef and/or chicken in four of 7-Eleven’s seven regions. Lawson and FamilyMart also simmer pork sausages in the same tray. Note too that an item’s allergen list can look clean while the broth is not: 7-Eleven’s daikon page lists only wheat and soy, but in western Japan it simmers in a broth made with beef. If you avoid pork or beef, assume counter oden is not suitable, and make it at home instead. None of it is vegetarian, because the base dashi is made from fish.

Regional styles

Oden changes across Japan. Burdock rolls, beef tendon and octopus are more common in the west; hanpen and fish balls (つみれ) in the east. Shizuoka oden is famous for black hanpen and pork offal (もつ) in a dark, beef-tendon broth.

Our 5 picks for oden at home

Making oden yourself is cheaper than buying it piece by piece, and it is the only way to be sure what is in the broth. Picks 1 and 2 are soup bases for your own ingredients; 3 is a complete chilled kit; 4 and 5 are ready to eat.

1. S&B Oden no Moto: the cheapest no-meat base

A powdered soup base in four small sachets. You add water and your own ingredients from the supermarket, so you decide exactly what goes in the pot. The ingredient list has bonito extract for flavour and no pork, chicken or beef, and no alcohol words such as 酒精 or みりん.

It is the easiest way to make a pork-free oden at home: buy daikon, eggs, konjac and fish cakes whose labels show no 豚脂 (pork fat), and simmer them in this broth. Allergens: wheat and soy.

Japanese name エスビー食品 おでんの素
Format Powder, 4 sachets × 20 g
Contains Bonito extract; wheat, soy. No meat or alcohol words listed
Price seen ¥214 at AEON Green Beans (27 Oct 2026)

✅ Pros

  • No meat or alcohol words in the ingredient list
  • Cheap; four pots from one pack
  • Full control over the ingredients

⚠️ Cons

  • Bonito-based: not vegetarian
  • Soy sauce is fermented (alcohol content not stated)
  • You buy the ingredients separately

Editor’s rating ★★★★★ 4.5 / 5.0 — the best base for a pork-free home oden.

Our own assessment based on price, ingredients and ease of use, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • No-pork, no-beef diets that eat fish
  • Students and shared houses
  • Anyone building their own pot

2. Kibun Oden-jiru no Moto granules: the oden maker’s own broth

From Kibun, the company most Japanese people connect with oden. These granules make a classic Kanto-style broth: one 17 g bag to 1,000 ml of water. The broth uses bonito, mackerel flakes and crab extract, and no pork is declared, unlike the soup packets inside Kibun’s ready-made kits (see pick 3).

Allergy note: it contains crab and mackerel, as well as wheat and soy.

Japanese name 紀文 おでん汁の素顆粒(小)
Format Granules, 2 bags × 17 g (1 bag per 1,000 ml water)
Contains Bonito, mackerel flakes, crab extract; wheat, soy. No pork declared
Price seen ¥171 at AEON Green Beans (27 Oct 2026)

✅ Pros

  • The authentic oden-maker taste
  • No pork declared
  • Cheap and easy to measure

⚠️ Cons

  • Crab and mackerel allergens
  • Not vegetarian
  • Ingredients sold separately

Editor’s rating ★★★★★ 4.5 / 5.0 — a classic Kanto oden broth with no pork declared.

Our own assessment based on price, ingredients and ease of use, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • First-time oden cooks
  • Fans of the classic taste
  • No-pork diets that eat seafood

3. Kibun Oden 8 kinds, 15 pieces: everything in one bag (soup contains pork)

A chilled kit with 15 pieces of 8 kinds of oden ingredients plus a soup packet. Add water and daikon or eggs if you like, and dinner for two or three is ready. It is the simplest way to get the “real” assortment of fish cakes.

The catch is in the small print: the soup packet declares pork (一部に…豚肉を含む), and the fish cakes declare chicken and squid. If you avoid pork, you can still use the fish cakes and swap in pick 1 or 2 as the broth. It is chilled with a short shelf life (Green Beans shows 3 days), so buy it close to cooking day.

Japanese name 紀文のおでん 8種15品
Format Chilled kit: 15 pieces + soup packet
Contains Soup: pork, wheat, soy. Ingredients: egg, wheat, squid, sesame, soy, chicken, yam
Price seen ¥648 at AEON Green Beans (27 Oct 2026)

✅ Pros

  • A full assortment in one bag
  • Feeds 2–3 people
  • Very little preparation

⚠️ Cons

  • Soup packet contains pork
  • Fish cakes contain chicken
  • Must stay chilled; short shelf life

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.0 / 5.0 — the easiest full oden, for people who eat pork.

Our own assessment based on price, ingredients and ease of use, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Couples and small families
  • A first “real” oden night
  • People with no pork restriction

4. Kibun Oden Can: shelf-stable, and it contains beef

Oden in a can, made famous by vending machines in Akihabara. It keeps at room temperature, can be eaten without heating, and has been getting attention as emergency food. One 280 g can holds seven items, including quail eggs and beef.

The broth lists beef shank (牛すね肉) and a fermented seasoning (醗酵調味料). Safety rules from Kibun: never heat the can directly over a flame, and do not microwave it (quail eggs can burst). For a hot-water bath, open the lid first, and remember the can gets hot.

Japanese name 紀文 おでん缶
Format Can, 280 g (1 serving, 7 items)
Contains Beef, bonito, fermented seasoning; egg, wheat, soy
Price seen Maker’s suggested price ¥648 (¥600 + tax)

✅ Pros

  • Keeps at room temperature
  • Edible cold: good for disaster kits
  • Fun Japanese souvenir

⚠️ Cons

  • Contains beef
  • Expensive per gram
  • No microwave, no direct flame

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.0 / 5.0 — a fun, shelf-stable oden that doubles as emergency food.

Our own assessment based on price, ingredients and ease of use, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • Emergency food kits
  • Dorms without a kitchen
  • Souvenir hunters

5. Kibun Oden Ichininmae: a single serving, no meat listed

A shelf-stable pouch of oden for one: 390 g including 180 g of ingredients. Its official ingredient list shows no meat, which makes it the easiest ready-made option for people who avoid pork and beef. It does list a fermented seasoning (発酵調味料), which may contain alcohol, and its allergens are egg, wheat and soy.

Heat it in a pan of hot water, following the pack. Like all oden containing eggs, do not microwave it unless the pack says you can.

Japanese name 紀文 おでん一人前
Format Shelf-stable pouch, 390 g (180 g ingredients)
Contains No meat listed; fermented seasoning; egg, wheat, soy
Price seen Not listed on the maker’s page; check the store

✅ Pros

  • No meat in the official ingredient list
  • Keeps at room temperature
  • Just the right size for one

⚠️ Cons

  • Fermented seasoning (may contain alcohol)
  • Price varies by store
  • Not halal-certified

Editor’s rating ★★★★☆ 4.0 / 5.0 — the simplest ready-made oden for one person who avoids pork and beef.

Our own assessment based on price, ingredients and ease of use, not customer reviews.

👍 Best for

  • People living alone
  • No-pork, no-beef diets that eat fish
  • A quick hot lunch

Budget tip for AEON shoppers: AEON’s own brand TopValu sells an oden base (おでんの素, 4 × 10 g, ¥117) with no meat listed, and an oden ingredient pack (おでん種 9種18品, ¥322). Read the labels, though: the grilled chikuwa in that ingredient pack lists pork fat (豚脂), and TopValu’s ready-to-heat oden pouch (だしの旨み おでん, ¥322) lists pork and chicken extract.

Comparison table: price, format, pork, beef and alcohol

Product Format Price seen Pork? Beef? Alcohol words?
S&B Oden no Moto Powder base ¥214 Not listed Not listed None listed
Kibun Oden-jiru granules Granule base ¥171 Not listed Not listed None listed
Kibun Oden 8 kinds 15 pieces Chilled kit ¥648 Yes (soup) Not listed Fermented seasoning in hanpen
Kibun Oden Can Can ¥648 (suggested) Not listed Yes Fermented seasoning
Kibun Oden Ichininmae Pouch Check store Not listed Not listed Fermented seasoning

※ Based on official ingredient lists and AEON Green Beans labels (checked 27 October 2026). Recipes change: always read the pack. “Not listed” is not a halal certification.

Words to look for on the label (原材料名)

If you avoid… Look for these words
Pork 豚肉, 豚, ポーク, ポークエキス, 豚脂 (pork fat), ラード, もつ. Also ゼラチン (gelatin), whose animal is usually not stated
Beef 牛, 牛肉, 牛すじ, 牛すね肉, ビーフ
Chicken 鶏肉, 鶏, チキン, チキンエキス
Alcohol 酒精, アルコール, みりん, 酒. 発酵調味料 / 醗酵調味料 (fermented seasoning) may contain alcohol

How to cook oden at home, and stay safe

Kibun says about 65% of people have failed at oden, mostly by boiling it too hard or too long. Its official method is simple:

  1. Make the broth with your base and water, as printed on the pack.
  2. Start with the slow items: daikon (peeled, sliced thick), boiled eggs, konjac and chikuwabu. Simmer gently for about 30 minutes.
  3. Add the fish cakes for 5–15 minutes. Too long and they swell and lose flavour.
  4. Add hanpen last, for just a few minutes.
  5. Never let it boil hard. A gentle simmer keeps the broth clear. Turn off the heat and let it rest: oden tastes better as it cools and the flavour soaks in.

Japanese home recipes often add sake (Tokyo style) or mirin (Osaka style, with chicken wings) to the broth. Leave them out if you avoid alcohol; the base alone is enough.

⚠️ Safety checklist

  • Never microwave oden with eggs (whole or quail) unless the pack says you can: they can burst
  • Never heat a can of oden directly over a flame. Open the lid before warming it in hot water
  • Konbini and pouch oden are very hot: keep the lid on and let it cool before biting
  • Cool leftovers quickly in shallow containers and refrigerate them; reheat thoroughly while stirring
  • Allergens to watch: wheat (soy sauce, chikuwabu), egg, soy, mackerel, crab, squid, yam (hanpen)

Frequently asked questions

Can I still buy oden at Japanese convenience stores in 2026?

Yes. 7-Eleven sells counter oden and a packaged cup (¥399.60), and ran a 10%-off oden sale on 16–20 October 2026. Lawson’s 2026 oden went on sale on 23 September, and FamilyMart lists 12 items on its official page. Not every store carries oden.

Is konbini oden halal or pork-free?

We found no halal certification. FamilyMart’s broth contains chicken and its daikon is labelled pork and gelatin; Lawson and FamilyMart simmer pork sausages in the same tray; and 7-Eleven’s broths in Tokai and western Japan contain beef and/or chicken. If you avoid pork or beef, make oden at home with a meat-free base.

Does oden contain alcohol?

Konbini pages do not list it. Home recipes often add sake or mirin, and some packaged oden lists a fermented seasoning (発酵調味料), which may contain alcohol. S&B Oden no Moto and Kibun Oden-jiru granules list no alcohol words.

Which oden items are vegetarian?

None, as served: even konjac and daikon simmer in a fish-based broth (and sometimes meat). Chikuwabu is made of wheat flour, but most other “cakes” are fish paste.

What is the easiest pork-free oden at home?

Use a base with no meat declared, such as S&B Oden no Moto or Kibun Oden-jiru granules, with daikon, eggs, konjac and fish cakes whose labels show no 豚脂 (pork fat). Kibun Oden Ichininmae is a ready-made pouch with no meat listed.

How much does oden cost?

At konbini, about ¥108–¥210 per item (Okinawa and regional specials up to about ¥290). A home soup base costs about ¥117–¥214, a Kibun kit ¥648, and the Kibun oden can has a suggested price of ¥648.

The short version

Konbini oden is a cheap, warming winter treat: point at what you want, ask for karashi, and mind the heat. But the shared broth can contain chicken, beef or pork, and we found no halal certification. If that matters to you, make it at home: S&B Oden no Moto or Kibun Oden-jiru granules for a meat-free broth, Kibun Oden 8 kinds for a complete kit (soup contains pork), the Kibun Oden Can for your emergency shelf (contains beef), or Kibun Oden Ichininmae for one person. Simmer gently, add hanpen last, and never microwave the eggs.

Japan Expat Starter Kit 2026 cover

Japan Expat Starter Kit 2026 PDF guide

Your first 90 days in Japan, step by step: 17 chapters · 24 pages · 100 phrases in Japanese script · 40 kanji · printable checklists. Bank account, My Number, health insurance, apartment, phone, taxes & pension.

$9.99 $4.99 current price

📥 Get the kit →

📄 Read 5 pages free: contents + Chapter 2

⚡ Instant PDF download · 🛡️ 30-day money-back guarantee · 🔄 Free 2026 updates

📚 More Japan Guides: Suica Card · PayPay Guide · Convenience Stores · Best VPN for Japan · Japan eSIM
📮 Get the Japan Life Lab newsletter
Practical guides for life and travel in Japan — free, about once a week. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

About the author|Japan Life Lab Editorial Team (run by Miyabi)
Written by Miyabi, a Japan-based publisher, and the JLL editorial team, based on official sources, marketplace reviews and expat community feedback. When we test something hands-on, we say so in the article. Content and Editorial Policy

☕ Enjoying our Japan guides?

If this article helped you, you can support our work with a coffee!

Support us on Ko-fi

Did this guide help you? 🍵

Japan Life Lab is a small independent blog, and every guide we publish is completely free — no paywalls, ever. If our work saved you time (or a headache), you can support us with a cup of Japanese tea. Every contribution, big or small, goes straight into keeping these guides free, accurate and up to date for everyone.

☕ Support Japan Life Lab
Secure payment via Ko-fi (card or PayPal). Thank you so much 🙏

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NEWThe Japan Expat Starter Kit 2026 — your first 90 days in Japan, step by step · 24-page PDF$9.99 $4.99Get it →×